Aspie Motor Skills / Do you do this?

I have a problem with clockwise, counter-clockwise motions. This shows up most often in screw caps or lids, from jelly jars to toothpaste tubes to juice bottles. I get so frustrated that I either just screw the lid on crooked, or jam it on, if possible. This leads to much “spilled milk” if I happen to drop or knock over the container later. (Which I do frequently) Case in point: Recently my dog knocked over a water bottle into my waterproof camera bag, turning it into an aquarium. The cap popped off because it was only partly screwed on – and crooked. End of camera…

I have a solution, but it’s a bit odd. Instead of rotating the cap or lid, I hold the cap stationary in my left hand – and rotate the jar or tube with my right hand, “screwing” the container into the lid. This is fine except for large or heavy containers, like milk jugs.

I’m still using my right hand to do the rotating, but to turn the container, not the lid.

I have no trouble “getting” a VISUAL DIAGRAM of the principle / action of torque, so why does my brain not “send” the correct signals to my body?

Balanced Torques. do the math! The block of unknown weight tends to rotate the system of blocks and stick counterclockwise, and the 20-N block tends to rotate the system clockwise. The system is in balance when the two torques are equal: counterclockwise torque = clockwise torque.

Note: If I were a “hunter-gatherer” I would NOT be the person doing manual detail work; weaving baskets, fish nets, making tools or jewelry or constructing clothing.  I’d be out “purposefully wandering” looking for resources – “treasure hunting” game locations, useful materials, water sources, making maps and sketches and returning with samples. A “human camera” of sorts.

Leave a Reply

